Biking lessons

I took the toe clips off my mountain bike pedals and it changed my biking entirely. I just have to keep reminding myself that they aren’t there anymore, so that I don’t accidentally try and jump something, go to lift up with my feet…and magically levitate right off the damn pedals. Awwwwkward.

Someone suggested that the rough spray paint job on my bike makes me look like a “hoodlum” riding a stolen bike. Really? Damn, I never thought of that. I was only consumed with the idea that a wee bottle of spray paint was going to make my adorable Rockhopper glow in the dark, which I thought was beyond fabulous. It’s really fun going on a ride in the dark in the woods and having a little phosphorescent glow to accompany me.

I wonder who else smokes weed and then goes mountain biking. It sure makes it entertaining, and a lot easier to zen out. It even helps me get past the point where my brain wants to quit, but my body is still saying go go go. I smoked a little much though, celebrating meeting my first writing deadline for my first paying gig. Wahoooooo!!! Yup, I was pretty damn giggly, and I almost wobbled into a car at a red light. Oops. It was only because I wasn’t used to the weird feeling of my feet moving around on the pedals. I kept expecting the bike to move like an extension of me, but like so many things in life, it just ain’t that way anymore. Change really is the only constant, and I love it even when it’s hard.

Speaking of hard, I guess I have to change my “Year of Celibacy” title to more like “Year of not having sexual intercourse with men because they’re lame”. Phew. Not telling details, that’s all I’m sayin’.

Quote of the day today “Not my circus, not my monkeys”

Things I am grateful for today: Old stone walls, four leaf clovers, sunscreen, bike pumps, crenelations, roses, sunshine, random writing opportunities.

Love to all

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.