Comfort food

I struggle to follow recipes. Depending on my mood, they seem like suggestions sometimes, and other times they are throw down challenges. Either way I love to put my apron on, make some tea, and get messy in the kitchen.
I’ve been using the same basic bread recipe since I was six, but I don’t believe I’ve ever made the same batch twice. Today I added brown sugar, honey, flaxseed meal, almond meal, and made half the batch into cinnamon rolls. My house smells fabulous.
It’s so important to put the right fuel into your body- good, healthy food made with good intention. This recipe always makes me happy to create, and it makes other people happy to eat it, so it works out great for everyone.

Bread recipe:
for 4 loaves-ish

4 cups room temperature water
4 Tbsp yeast
1/3 cup sugar (can vary from 1/8 cup to 1 cup)
2 eggs (optional)
1/2 cup butter (optional)
1/2 cup dry milk
1 Tbsp salt
Lots of flour

Add yeast to water and then add sugar (or honey/maple syrup/brown sugar). Wait for yeast to show activity, then add flour to make a slightly viscous texture. Add room temperature eggs and melted butter (cooled slightly), then add dry milk, salt, and add more flour until it becomes dough. Dump out onto large floured surface, knead more flour in as needed. Shape into a ball and leave in warm location to rise. Punch it down after it doubles in size. Reshape in ball and let rise again. When it doubles in size again, shape it into loaves and let rise in greased loaf pans. When it’s about the right size and shape, cook in the oven at 350 degrees, for about 30-40 minutes. This is what I did with that recipe today:
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.