Just a dream

It’s wild that my little brother is all grown up with a child of his own now. I still feel over protective, but he’s grown into a strong, healthy adult. I know he has massive struggles too though. The whole Robin Williams thing hit him pretty hard too.

It’s been many moons, but I will never forget my parents leaving for the hospital with my sister in an ambulance. The thick swirls of pre-dawn fog outside coming off the lake, the torn open plastic bag on the living room floor, and my ten year old brother waking up, wondering where everyone was. Bless his heart, he slept through it all. I didn’t want to be the one to explain it to him, I wanted so much for him to get to keep his innocence as long as possible.

I wonder if everyone has a point where illusion and innocence are stripped away. I feel so old, I don’t think I was ever innocent. I was born, I aged a few centuries very quickly, then a hundred more, and now I’m slowly getting my youth back. A little late perhaps, but like many things; it was worth waiting for.

SOTD
Don’t Dream It’s Over- Crowded House
Istanbul (Not Constantinople)- They Might Be Giants
Crazy In The Night- Kim Carnes

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.