Let your hair down

I wear my hair down most of the time, for purely personal safety reasons.  If you have a ponytail or your hair confined, it’s easier for someone to control you with it. If someone grabs a handful of loose hair, you can still tear away. On the other hand, a pony tail does make convenient reins when you do feel like getting caught.

I feel like a wild woman right now. I woke up, laid in bed for a bit, then went for a run/walk on the steep hills around my house. It’s polar vortex and blustery outside, but brilliantly sunny in the intense oranges and reds of autumn. So much green space around me, big old farmhouses, and room to move without a zillion people around me. As much as I fight the concept, clearly I’m a introvert, as I recharge best in peace and quiet. On the island I would go biking in the woods, or around my favorite loop, and not run into many people- it helped with the PTSD hyper vigilant state that’s so exhausting. Strangers even wave at each other up there, and good lord it’s so beautiful. I used to go home to visit it every major holiday, and at this time of year everything is a heartbreaking reminder. It sometimes makes me want to curl up and not come out until March- remembering what my parents did. So much for thinking I grew up in a good family.

Maybe I should run longer, and go again tonight. Sometimes hard exercise is the only thing that helps. Oh wait, art and safe cuddle time help a lot too. And a perhaps a little time on the dance floor.

Love to all.

SOTD- going retro

Dancing In The Dark- Bruce Springsteen
Major Tom (German version)- Peter Schilling
More Than I Can Say- Leo Sayer
Out Of Touch- Hall & Oates
Against All Odds- Phil Collins
Missing You- John Waite
Voyeur- Kim Carnes
Self Control- Laura Branigan
Heat Of The Moment- Asia
Somebody’s Watching Me- Rockwell
Hand To Hold On To- John Cougar

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Let your hair down

  1. Kyra says:

    When I was taking kung fu, one of the self-defense routines we learned was defending against a hair grab. It’s a nice thing to know how to do.

    I’m sorry you’re missing out on the relief you need right now. That’s really tough.

    Like

    • No worries; I’ll be fine. Maybe a little Kung Fu is in order though, thanks for that idea! xoxo

      Like

      • Kyra says:

        I LOVED doing martial arts, and knowing you, it sounds like something that would be right up your alley.

        Like

      • It does sound like my thing; I’ve only had brief introductions but never found a form I click with but perhaps now is a good time for me to explore the concept further. hmmmm. What about kung fu did you like?

        Like

      • Kyra says:

        I’ve found it’s much more about the instructor than the style. I first got into martial arts in college (because my friend thought one of the sensei was hot). I did US Yoshukai Karate (a Japanese chito-ryu style) and competed around the southeast. A back injury took me out for a long time, but once I finally got adequate treatment, I was living far from any Yoshukai dojos. I talked to instructors at several local schools because I wanted to find an instructor who was comfortable letting me work around my injury issues–the “just push through it” attitude wasn’t going to work. The instructor who seemed most comfortable dealing with that taught Pukulan, which is Indonesian kung fu. It was a small school and mostly women (although my direct instructor was male), and I liked that. It meant I got a lot of personal attention and instruction–I don’t think our classes were more than 5 people except when we did all-level classes.

        A lot of schools now will let you attend one class for free, so that might be a good way to investigate the schools around you. It’s a good way to get a feel for the style and the instructor[s].

        Like

Comments are closed.