Echoes

I went to see Maya Lin give a talk, and it was completely inspiring. She designed the Vietnam Veterans memorial in Washington DC, and her current Confluence project is epic and glorious. I got in on a media pass, the press table was up by the VIPs, and some of the members of Pink Martini were sitting right next to us- what a delightfully small world. I love those big old elegant hotels downtown, and I do miss hanging out with the swankier crowds. I love all my alternative/hippie friends but it’s fun to hang out with the moneyed groups as well- such an interesting perspective. And this crowd had money, a conscience, and cared enough to come to an event like this.  The funniest part was that as I was leaving, I ran into one of my favorite doctors from when I worked in the ER.  Of course he remembered me, because he was the attending doctor the night I woke up in the ICU- so he got the call before my parents even did- not sure how that all worked out, as I never asked. It was lovely to see him again- he was one of my favorite work crushes; brilliant, caring, warm, compassionate. I will probably love him forever for one time asking the one question that always helps break through a panic attack/crisis: “Would you like some tea?”

On my way back to the office after the presentation, I stopped at a 7-11 and it actually made me laugh. No one ever believes it- how severe my social anxiety and panic disorder have been in the past. Because I’m so social now, people just laugh and say what? How is that possible? I find it amazing that I can go to these events- not even stoned now- and function like a normal person. It used to be so bad that I couldn’t even go into a grocery store; I only had carryout and whatever I could find at 7-11. Eating so shitty was awful for my physical and mental health, but it took a long time to change that pattern. It’s been years now, but it’s not like I’m ever going to forget. I love being social- people are miraculous creatures, and interesting things happen all the time, all over the place. I wish I had more time, since I got such a late start, but I’m grateful for it now.

SOTD

Hold My Hand- Hootie and the Blowfish
Like A Cowboy- Randy Houser
A Sunday Kind Of Love- Etta James
Always Something There To Remind Me- Naked Eyes

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.