Fleeting moments

I think I got what has to be the funniest compliment ever- for me anyway. I was out and about in the city today, and at one point I bent over to get a newspaper out of a sidewalk stand. As I did, I noticed a man coming towards me. Since pretty much all men make me nervous, I have a habit of initiating contact to preemptively reduce any social tension. So I said “Thanks for bringing out the sunshine”- because it had just broken through the clouds.

His response was “Your ass brought the sunshine out” and he gave me a big smile and kept walking. What a socially awkward and funny moment. Thanks random dude!

Later I walked by a man eating alone in a restaurant downtown. I was feeling fierce and my expression reflected that, I’m sure. He looked so lonely and sad when our eyes met through the glass. I looked away instantly, then wished I hadn’t. I went back later with the intention of at least smiling at him- I had a notebook to write a note of random happiness, but he was already gone. It was in the older part of town with a high homeless population, and he looked like he was struggling. I wish I had stopped and made contact the first time.

What a weird and random collection of moments life can be. From glorious to tragic, and everything in between, but always moving fast, with no rewinding.

Love to all

SOTD
Speed Of Light- OMD
Burn It Down- Linkin Park

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fleeting moments

  1. Hahahaha!!!
    Run with it!!!
    Nice ass! Keep up the good work!!! šŸ™‚

    Like

Comments are closed.