Alternative addictions

I’m still friends with my first boyfriend’s parents, even though it’s been 20 years now. His mom just sent me a text asking to see me over the winter holiday. Yay! That’s the closest thing to family that I’ll be seeing this holiday season, so it makes me feel a lot better.

It’s too bad the dude went all mental with the steroids and drugs- his wife left him because of that, and I won’t talk to him again either. But his parents and family are wonderful people. They were the first true examples of how mostly normal families act, and they were always so warm and loving, it changed my life in a zillion ways. He changed my life too, by telling me to ditch my abusive family. Then he told me to smoke some weed and keep up with him while we ran around doing super fun things. I’m still so grateful that he introduced me to some of my favorite addictions: hangliding, rock climbing, mountain biking, whitewater kayaking, windsurfing, and generally running out all my hyper energy which I was only channelling inwards. Phew.

How wonderful that the families we create are sometimes so much better for us than our blood relatives. I wish I’d disowned that half of my birth family sooner, but better late than never. The faux family around me now is pretty amazing, and we’re growing and improving all the time.

Love to all

SOTD
Kiss You Tonight- David Nail
Head Like A Hole- NIN

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.