Slow like limping turtle

The holiday cookies are sticking with me, dammit. Yesterday I biked almost 10 miles at the gym (does that still count if it’s indoors?), and I’m wildly driven to move, exercise, and shake off the plump. I can’t stand it, I don’t feel good, and it gives me a horrible handicap when I’m biking up the mountain.

Luckily, I know well how much exercise does to balance out my brain chemicals. When nothing else is working, physical movement will help a lot. It might have to be sustained for a while, or high intensity, but it generally does the trick. A simple ten minute walk is sometimes all it takes. Other times it’s been skiing, skydiving, or an epic, hours-long bike ride up and down mountains. Or the whitewater addiction that I’ve had for a very long time. Oh my goodness I love my kayaks soooooo much.

Now that my life has calmed down a lot, and I’ve separated from the drama that was around me, I now have the peace and quiet to focus on what I need to get done, both inwards and outwards. Yay! What a relief to be out of panicked/survival mode for a little while. I do so much better when I have some stability and strong support around me- like most people, I’m sure.  Mantra of the day: Keep moving forward!

Love to all

SOTD
What Happens Tomorrow- Duran Duran
Rebuild- Barenaked Ladies

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slow like limping turtle

  1. se4b says:

    I love kayaking too! …but in a lake or somewhere calm 😛

    Like

Comments are closed.