Invoking the 40% rule

That wasn’t exactly the most fun I’ve ever had, sorting through all my soot covered possessions. Holy shit it was therapeutic though – I threw away things that I would have carted around for years. Luckily the universe had other things in mind. I feel free, untethered, portable. Of all the amazing luck, my photo albums survived, and my favorite paintings did too. They’re all wet and smoke damaged, but it’s fine. Everything else is just optional, but it’s pretty much a total loss. Even the things I keep will be smelly and covered with soot. I don’t mind though, even though it’s a pain in the ass and pretty upsetting. It could have been so much worse, and I just have a feeling that it needed to happen and it was one of the best things that could have happened. I don’t know, call it premonition or something.

It’s been really interesting to see what survived and what didn’t. I was pretty OCD about wrapping all my stuff and/or putting it in plastic bins or bags, and when I unwrapped and opened, I just started laughing because yes Universe I get it, I see the lessons I’m supposed to learn. Would you mind easing up a bit now? Thanks.

SOTD
Hollow Moon (Bad Wolf) – AWOLNATION
Smoke – A Thousand Horses

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.