Search and rescue

I dated a wonderfully sweet man once who was a retired Navy search and rescue jumper. His stories were inspiring, and his bumper sticker cracked me up (Support Search and Rescue – Get Lost). Now, years later, I have the chance to volunteer with SAR and I jumped at it. Every child in distress, every struggling teen, and so many adults – who doesn’t secretly dream of being rescued out of your dark moments? I certainly dreamed of it, over and over for years. But I was rescued, by different wonderful humans who came into my life at just the right moment – whether I was ready or not.

It would be wonderful if I could contribute to someone else’s happy moment – that joy when a stranger gives you a much needed hand out of hell – I know the reality is nothing like that, but I’m nothing if not optimistic. It’s a messed up world, and apathy won’t do shit to change things. SAR means being on call 24/7 until I quit, but wtf, I’m not that busy. Besides, volunteering helps immensely in the battles of me vs the wolves of depression.

Love to all: May you get the help you need, exactly when you need it. Even the asshole pilots.

SOTD
Rescue Me – Madonna

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.